arcipelago toscano

National Park of the Tuscan Achipelago

The National Park of the Tuscan Archipelago is a protected area extending over 600 km square in the sea. Within its area are located the islands of Capraia, Elba, Giannutri, Giglio, Gorgona, Montecristo and Pianosa. The seven islands are therefore subject to specific protection rules that partially limit human activities in the territory. The aim of the park is to safeguard the extraordinary variety of these terrestrial and marine natural environments.
Elba Island, the largest and most populated, has some protected areas but there are no significant restrictions on human activity. It is in fact the destination of many visitors who appreciate its lovely beaches and bays, hiking and mountain biking trails, cycling, climbing and fishing opportunities. The same goes for the islands of Giglio and Giannutri, which are very popular during the summer.
Capraia, Pianosa and Gorgona are smaller islands but these are also affected by tourism, though with some restrictions on the number of daily visitors and accommodation options.
The only island inaccessible to tourists is Montecristo. The latter is classified as an “integral reserve” and can only be visited in small groups under the watchful control of the forest guards. Bathing, sailing and fishing are also prohibited.

× Come possiamo aiutarti?